503-782-0535

How To Get A Restraining Order in Oregon

If you’re a victim of physical abuse or threatened abuse, you may be able to get a restraining order under the Oregon Family Abuse Prevention Act. You can be eligible to get a restraining order under the Family Abuse Prevention Act if your situation fits the following criteria:

  • You are at least 18 years old, or you are younger than 18 and the person who abused you is at least 18 and you are (or were) married to that person, or you have been in a sexual relationship with that person.
  • The person who abused you is: 1) your husband, wife or domestic partner; or 2) your former husband, wife or domestic partner; or 3) an adult with whom you are living (or did live) in a sexual relationship; or 4) an adult with whom you have been in a sexual relationship in the last two years; or 5) an adult related to you by blood, marriage or adoption; or 6) the parent of your child.
  • The person you wish to have a restraining order against has: physically injured you; or tried to physically injure you; or made you afraid that he or she was about to physically injure you or made you have sexual relations against your wishes by using force or threats of force.
  • The abuse that occurred happened within the last 180 days. Any time period in which the person who abused you was in jail or lived more than 100 miles from your home does not count as part of the 180-day period.
  • Ongoing Danger. You are in immediate danger of further abuse, and the person who abused you is a threat to the physical safety of you or your children.
Share this on...Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on Google+Email this to someone